Springfield Attractions Blog Post: Week 1

Conor Wadle
Relating Publically
3 min readJan 22, 2018
  1. “Looking for something to do tonight in Springfield? Look no further.”
  2. “Top 10 Springfield spots you haven’t been to yet.”
  3. “Top 10 must-see spots in Springfield”
  4. “Plans tonight? Check out these hidden treasures in Springfield!”
  5. “Most popular Springfield restaurants”
  6. “Tired of chain restaurants? Here’s 10 locally owned restaurants you have to visit soon!”
  7. “10 ways to make your Springfield visit memorable!”
  8. “Coming through Springfield?” Here’s 10 spots you have to try out!”
  9. “Top 10 rated restaurants in Springfield.”
  10. “10 Springfield spots every true Springfieldian has been to.”
  11. “The hidden gems of downtown Springfield”
  12. “How to make your trip to Springfield unforgettable”
  13. “10 stops that’ll make your Springfield trip unforgettable.”
  14. “Map for the perfect trip to Springfield”
  15. “How to fall in love with Springfield in 10 quick stops”
  16. “Your guide to Springfield restaurants and attractions”
  17. “10 things we love about Springfield”
  18. “There’s something about Springfield: 10 best stops for your next trip!”
  19. “Sleepless in Springfield: The best night life spots in the city!”
  20. “When in Springfield: Top 10 must-see spots”
  21. “Forgot to plan your trip? D’OH! No worries! Here’s the top 10 spots to visit while you’re in Springfield.”
  22. “10 Springfield spots that’ll make you beg to stay”
  23. “10 upcoming Springfield spots you have to be the first to try!”
  24. “Up and at it? Here’s 10 Springfield coffee shops that’ll get your morning started right.”
  25. “7 Springfield Brunch spots that’ll satisfy your Hakuna Mimosa craving.”

QUESTIONS

  1. Of the headlines I wrote, I think that numbers 4, 15, and 25. I think these three illustrate the importance of being quick, concise, and a little clever. While 4 doesn’t have a play on words, I think it’s the best you can do to create a quick but enticing headline. 15 and 25 work by doing a quick reference to something, while still being short and easily digestible
  2. I think different groups of these show different issues. For example, I think 6, 21, and 24 wouldn’t make the cut because of length alone. The titles are a little too long, likely meaning people won’t even start reading them. I also think that some of them like 2, 5, and 14 aren’t original enough. It doesn’t pop out like other headlines, but just kinda seems like any other boring article.
  3. Once I got into writing headlines, I began to enjoy spending time making ones that sounded catchy, or parodied movie titles. 17, 18, 19, and 25 are good examples of that. I think those were slightly more clever, and thus incentivize reading. Beyond that, I found myself most interested in writing listicles. It might have been because the assignment related to Buzzfeed, but I couldn’t stop including numbers in the headlines.
  4. There are some of them I would click on. Especially the later ones, which are my sense of humor (duh, I wrote them) might make me think the article will be clever and original. But of course, I’m biased since I made the jokes.
  5. I probably wouldn’t share the article. But I personally don’t share a lot of listicles or articles like this. I would be much more likely to share a political article. Of those, I generally do share the catchiest headline, as a way to make it seem more appealing to the audiences I’m sharing it to.
  6. I learned that creating headlines was harder than I expected. After writing the first ten, I felt like I was out of ideas, but still felt like the things I had written weren’t that great. Finding a way to create headlines that are catchy, intriguing, and consise is a harder task than you’d expect.

--

--