Poem

That Flighty Temptress

onyireadsandwrites
Relationship Stories

--

I watch your receding steps
It reminds me of your shadow last night
The one that stood by my bedside
Wanting to be anywhere but there
I’d rather have had it in my bed
I miss when you were happy but I was your momentous fling
You, my forever
So I ignored your sad smiles
Maybe they’d go away
The steady beating of your heart against mine
It became slower, missed more beats
Maybe mine went too fast when you touched me
So you couldn’t dance along anymore
Maybe yours went too slow and I died
I died trying to match our beats
Maybe I should have been smarter, built a time machine
I’d keep going back to the start
When your preceding steps didn’t have me behind
Did we last longer than your last?
I can’t tell, it’s all blurred in love
I’d never stumbled this path of love
I always loved with love one step behind
But you, you fell in step with me
Even if for a moment
Our heartbeats matched
Till yours went too slow or mine went too fast
And I died in my empty bed
With your shadow by the edge
Withering away with the sunrise of your next adventure
You said you want to see the world
And I said, go
I watch your receding steps with hope
That one day
Maybe
I’d stop falling for the wrong people

--

--

onyireadsandwrites
Relationship Stories

Out in a storm, retrogressing fitfully, trying to find myself