The Right Kind of Love Can Be Deeply Healing

Sammy Wan
Relationship Stories
5 min readAug 20, 2020

--

Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

“The emotion that can break your heart is sometimes the very one that heals it.” — Nicholas Sparks

As I settle into my new reality of moving in with my boyfriend soon, my heart swells up with gratefulness, appreciation and a deep sense of comfort and warmth. The journey to this hasn’t been easy, but with the right person, everything will fall into place.

About a year and a half ago, I just got out of an unhealthy relationship. It was a relationship filled with struggles and confusion. As much as I wanted to help him with his depression and drinking, I now realised that it is not my responsibility and one that doesn’t want to be helped, can’t be helped. The negativity and other stressors of life got to me and I found myself sinking deeper and deeper, and holding on to it even harder.

I held on to it much longer than I should have, until I was faced with coldness and the harsh reality that my love was no longer needed anymore. I was hurt, angry and confused. But slowly found my way and decided to focus fiercely on myself and do the things that I truly wanted to do.

I turned to lots of self-help resources, looked within deeper than I ever have, and got back to the simple principle of being the best version of my self. ‘You attract what you are’ they say, and I wanted to be the positive…

--

--

Sammy Wan
Relationship Stories

Inspiring mindfulness, creativity & growth through my personal reflections | An invitation to mind-body approach for more wisdom: www.sammywan.com