Lost your job? Find your faith.

How your toughest times become your greatest turning points

Tyler Agnew
RELOCATE Magazine
3 min readApr 6, 2017

--

My phone vibrated. “Work” was calling. I reluctantly picked up the phone. I just got home. What could they want? An unfamiliar voice on the line said the website I served as an editor was moving in a new direction. For the time being, I was not a part of that direction.

I would never get a call from that “Work” again.

There’s not a feeling quite as hopeless as not knowing when you’ll see your next paycheck. Teary-eyed and desperate, my knees hit the ground.

I prayed God would find me a job — and quick. Prayer was my only option.

There is an anchor on K-LOVE radio, a contemporary Christian station, who always says “pray isn’t the least we can do, it’s the most we can do.” I found truth in those words.

God hears. He listens and he does something about our situation. He knows the right job for you.

Within a week, the Lord blessed me with a new job as a feature writer at a local newspaper. I realize not everyone’s job search is finalized so quickly. But don’t give up. God knows the who, what, when, where, why and how of your search.

While you look for a job, look for hope. Losing my job was a turning point in my life. My faith strengthened; my financial wisdom grew. I now see why I lost my job. God held many reasons for the change and all of them were for my good.

My next position was a much better situation for me than the first. My commute was cut from an hour and a half to 10 minutes. Now, I had the time I needed with my girlfriend, who I was about to ask to become my wife.

I was an editor at my old job, but I was hired as a writer at my new one. It seemed like a step down. What I’ve come to realize, though, is that I wasn’t ready for an editor’s position. I needed extensive training and coaching. My new job provided many learning opportunities.

Also, my old job didn’t provide insurance. God knew in a few months I’d need a major surgery. My new job provided an excellent insurance package.

My week of unemployment tested my faith and resolve. I now have a greater trust in the Lord. I take everything to him. Not just my big concerns but the small as well.

The experience also showed me the importance of establishing a strong savings account. I can no longer think, “It won’t happen to me.” Life has happened. It will happen.

I realize now that when life comes crashing down, I need a plan and some money to fall back on. Losing my job was tough. Finding my faith and my security were well worth the struggle.

--

--

Tyler Agnew
RELOCATE Magazine

I am a writer and editor. I blog at tyleragnew.com, and you can find me on twitter, @agnewsie.