The Power and Joy of the Appalachian Queer Film Festival

The recent celebration of queer film, held in Huntington, WV, was a reminder of the value of such spaces and events in our vexed age.

Dr. Thomas J. West III
Reluctant Moderation
5 min readOct 11, 2023

--

About a year ago, a friend of mine sent me a Facebook message.

“I have an opportunity that I think might interest you,” he wrote.

“Oh dear,” I thought, “my friend has gotten ensnared in some sort of pyramid scheme.”

I braced myself, waiting for him try to convince me that he was going to make me millions, but it was nothing of the kind. Instead, hewanted to introduce me to a friend of his who was co-directing the Appalachian Queer Film Festival. Since I love queer film, and I love Appalachia, and I loved the idea of the festival when I saw it advertised on Facebook several years ago (before the pandemic derailed everything), I leapt at the opportunity. Very soon I was getting to know the extraordinary others who were already a part of the board (special shot out to Jon Matthews and J Galliene for their tremendous efforts). They welcomed me at once, and I was reminded of just how much power and pleasure there is in being with your own kind. We queers are a family, and we Appalachian queers are an even more special kind of family.

--

--

Dr. Thomas J. West III
Reluctant Moderation

Ph.D. in English | Film and TV geek | Lover of fantasy and history | Full-time writer | Feminist and queer | Liberal scold and gadfly