Running the 10k

Puneeth Narayana
Reluctant Technologist
4 min readJul 14, 2017

Having done quite a few 5ks it was time for me to step up my game

Having been over weight for almost all my young adult life, I finally discovered two things which have motivated me over the last year to take action, Himalayas and running.

Both of these activities need you find a tribe of like minded individuals who help and motivate each other to keep going.

I have loved Sports all my life but that love has been confined to more following and enjoying them rather actually playing it due to the constant moving around.

And the inevitable focus on studies from 10th standard on meant that physical activity wasn’t really my thing since I was in 9th grade.

The current focus on physical activities though started in March 2016 when I ran my first 5k, have to thank my friend for sticking with me in that race and helping me finish. I stopped so much in between that he did another lap of 2.5k to feel like he ran. 😊

After that point on signed up for quite a few 5ks, went for a couple of Himalayan treks and finally decided it was time for a 10k.

It was Mid May 2017, when I eventually ran my first 10k. I went on a strict cardio workout regime the month previous to it just to be able to finish this race.

I used to run half an hour on thread mill along with group exercises to get in shape.

Race was held in Cubbon park/Kanteerava stadium in Bengaluru, as most races in the city are.

I was running with three other friends, and after a round of warm-up which is primarily zumba these days, we were all set for the run. This was my first timed run to boot, we reached the starting point about ten minutes after the start of the run. The roads were narrow and the people were plenty.

It was a very pleasant run under the trees lining up both sides of the roads. I was able to run about 5 kms without stopping, after that had a couple of breaks for a glucose tablet and some water. The second half of the run was slightly more painful, was losing my breath frequently as I was not able to get into a proper rhythm. Eventually though I was able to finish in 1:07:45. A very decent start to my amateur 10k career.

Soon after I signed up for another 10k to be held on July 9th. All four of us who had run this one signed up for that one as well. Quite a few things changed for me personally on the family front and my conditioning was not as good for the July race.

Personalized Bib with a “tougher 10k” warning.

With barely any preparation over the past month, I was quite apprehensive about my ability to run this race. To add to that this was being held on NICE road near Banashankari, so good bye relatively flat roads of cubbon park, and the canopy. No wonder this was marketed as the “tougher 10k”.

The run was scheduled at 0630, and we woke up around 0430 to get ready for the run. Reached the venue around 0600. My knees were not really feeling comfortable while warming up. Nevertheless with a lot of blind faith in my body and legs, I set off. It took nearly 8 minutes after the official kickoff for us to cross the start/finish line. Such was the crowd.

The crowd felt like a religious expedition rather than a run

The fact that the first couple of kilometers were such an obvious uphill climb did not help the morale. Neither did the constant bumping into people which did not allow me to set any kind of rhythm. The initial uphill climb combined with poor conditioning meant I had to stop around the 4km mark this time around, instead of shooting past the 5 mark. The water stations used to funnel people up and made it very hard to maintain a consistent pace.

Nevertheless after a couple of breaks which involved taking in electrolytes, stretching and catching my breath (in no particular order), I was able to make it to the finish point. The inclines and declines really took a toll on my legs. Feet felt like jelly and knees were feeling icky. Was able to make it in at a respectable 1:08:52. About a minute more than my first timed 10k.

Found out afterwards that around 5000 people had run the 10k! No wonder it looked like a pilgrimage scene.

I for one was just glad that I was able to finish this one.

I am just recovering from my run, but already can’t wait to sign up for the next one with my amateur running tribe. I encourage you join us! The more the merrier.

--

--