Made on Remix

Remix Season 3: Embracing AI-Powered Creativity with Hbcoop

Tyler
Remix
Published in
6 min readJan 3, 2024

--

Hi Remixers! Get ready for an exciting journey as we dive deep into Hbcoop’s captivating creative universe in our upcoming blog post.

It’s going to be loads of fun.

Artist Bio

My name is Heather Cooper, and I’ve been a pharmacist for over 20 years. I learned to code about two years ago, and that led me to blogging and freelance content writing, and eventually creating content on 𝕏 / Twitter. I love visual information and I wrote about creating inclusive content, including visuals.

In December 2022, I decided to change my focus to generative AI. I recognized how useful ChatGPT could be for most creators and I wanted to share examples of how they could use it to save time. I was also new to AI Art generating tools and writing prompts, so I felt I could dive deeper into AI as my niche.

Made on Remix

With the advancement of AI tools does the approach of an artist change?

I think the advancement of tools offers a unique opportunity for artists to help shape the future of how these tools are built with the user in mind, instead of a general audience. Artists will find ways to fit these tools into their workflow for brainstorming and editing.

I don’t have a background in Art or Design, but I believe these tools will allow people like me to express their creativity through visual storytelling.

How do emotion and passion play into your art?

I like to go after the ‘Wow’ response from my audience. I rarely post pieces to evoke intense emotion to make people feel pain or sadness. I enjoy finetuning prompts and experimenting with image generation to escape from my own grief and anxiety. I try to do the same for other people and give them a reason to smile.

Made on Remix

What are you seeing with the current generation of AI tools for video?

I’m lucky to have the opportunity to get early access to many tools, including text or image-to-video products. I am blown away by the quality of output for photorealistic and abstract results.

The motion — particularly ambient motion or intuitive motion that I’ve seen is incredible. The videos are getting slightly longer with less unexpected transformations taking place.

Any advice to artists on how to think about this accelerating change created by AI tools?

I advise people to embrace the pace and learn whatever you can, whenever you can. Learn the tools you have access to already. Don’t spend a ton of money on products you don’t know how to use yet. There are plenty of directions you can go to learn about a particular topic, such as video editing, using GPT tools to brainstorm or summarize large amounts of information.

Don’t get left behind because you figured you had plenty of time to learn later. Many of these tools are free right now, while in beta and early access. They won’t remain free for long, though.

Made on Remix

How do you incorporate artificial intelligence into your artistic process? What inspired you to explore this intersection between art and technology?

I use ChatGPT and Perplexity to explain different Art styles, movements, and techniques to develop and simplify new topics and prompts. I like to use these tools because I frequently upload images for analysis and potential prompts. I go beyond asking for a prompt to generate the exact image I uploaded — I ask for creative prompts using different subjects or settings using the same style, emotion or composition.

I’m a creative person but I wasn’t able to pursue Art as a healthcare professional. Generative AI makes it possible to learn Art history and techniques, terminology, photography, cinematography, and any subject that interests me. This technology helped me find ways to express my creativity.

Made on Remix

Could you provide some insight into the specific AI techniques or algorithms you employ in your artwork? How do you choose which ones to use for different projects?

I love using color for visual storytelling to add mood and depth to images. I use AI to help me capture the viewer’s attention and emotion through color transitions and placement in the composition with the most effective keywords and phrases in prompts.

I use different types of prompting techniques to get answers in a specific form. For example, I’ll ask for the results in a list or table so I can paste the information into a spreadsheet for easier navigation and to use to build prompts for a topic I’m writing about.

Made on Remix

In what ways does AI enhance your creative expression and push the boundaries of traditional artistic techniques? Are there any unique outcomes or artistic possibilities that AI enables for you?

AI enhances my creative expression by giving me ideas to add more value to my audience with background and in-depth information about each piece of content I post. I can go further than just sharing prompts for a specific topic — I can give my audience more tips to develop their own prompts based on their personal style.

AI helps me target problems and barriers my audience might be facing so I can provide solutions to help them grow and learn how to create beautiful AI Art.

Made on Remix

What impact do you believe AI will have on the future of art? Do you see it as a complementary tool to traditional artistic practices, or do you envision a more transformative role for AI in the creative realm?

I think AI will propel Art in the future, as it has already. It will help to introduce Art to more people without access to expensive courses or schools.

I do see AI as a complementary tool to traditional artistic practices, as a starting point for inspiration and enabling artists to do more with less time or resources. Some creatives will use it to do add more advanced techniques to their artwork.

Made on Remix

What’s your favorite thing about Remix?

My favorite thing about Remix is the even playing field we don’t typically see in social media. On Remix, it doesn’t matter how many followers or likes you have — those things aren’t visible and we can interact with people we probably wouldn’t find on other social media platforms. The founders are quite active on Remix and they offer encouragement to Remixers, along with sharing their creative work.

I see Remix as a place to relax, engage with other creators, and share my Remixed creations!

Made on Remix

Thanks for joining us and stay tuned for our next artist highlight.

--

--