In moving performance, David Crosby and Sky Trails band capture CSN legend in his full glory

Anne Zieger
Remixed Magazine
Published in
3 min readJun 5, 2019

--

Tonight, I saw David Crosby on tour with the Sky Trails band at a music hall in Virginia. My husband and I seldom blow our budget on concert tickets but come on, this is The Croz. He’s almost a part of my family.

Not only is he a seminal figure whose work with Crosby Stills Nash (and sometimes the elusive Young) has informed American culture for nigh-on fifty years, his music has been a part of some of the most important moments of our lives, like when we sang a CSN song as my first son was born. I mean, while I was in the late stages of labor. We’re talking intimacy here.

So we shelled out more than $100 a seat (including a stiff Ticketmaster fee) for seats. We had to be there, if for no other reason than that Crosby is approaching 78 years of age and can’t live forever.

I went to the Birchmere expecting a great performance, but I didn’t count on there being so many perfect moments — even with a master magician like Crosby at the mike. If you thought the CSNY legend was past his expiration date, you were dead wrong. Not only has he still got it, he’s gotten more of it over time, and the fruits of a lifetime of craftsmanship were on full display.

While some voices dull as the singer ages, the Croz can still deliver a song with warmth and finesse and produces a tenor belt that many younger men would envy. Not only that, he has a gift for making songs he’s performed for 50 years…

--

--

Anne Zieger
Remixed Magazine

Anne Zieger has been a writer for almost 30 years. She's interested in life, the universe and everything.