Don’t Use Diacritics for Your Electronic Tracks— the Likes of á, ó, ñ, etc Are NO Bueno!

Sinisa 'Simon' Radovcic
RemixRotation
Published in
2 min readMar 28, 2021

If you produce electronic music and plan to sell it on Beatport or Traxsource, you should use English alphabet only for your track and artist name.

Do you produce electronic music and sell it on Beatport, Traxource etc? I am your customer — glad to meet you!

I find your music in a multiple ways:

  1. If I am already following you, Beatport will list your new tracks in “MyBeatport”
  2. Or your “sharing” on social networks might show up in my feed with a direct link to your track
  3. Your track got charted in one of top100 charts that I visit all the time
  4. I learn about your track in some other way and go searching for it on Google search
  5. But I also might I search for your track/artist name directly on Betaport, Traxsouce etc. which could be a problem if you are using diacritics like á, ó, ñ etc.

The possible issue with #5 lies in the fact that my keyboard is English alphabet only without an obvious way to my to type the á, ó, ñ etc. Yes, I can “copy-and-paste” the original spelling verbatim from other source to paste it into the Traxsource search box. However, if I am trying to retype “Pasión Latina (Mijangos Remix)…” I will simply use an “o” instead of the original “ó” and Traxsource might not be able to match my request to the appropriate track in their catalog.

Consider this search using the “o”, instead of the “ó” which yields the “no results found…”

traxsource.com/Pasion+Latina+(Mijangos+Remix)+Inaky+Garcia

Meanwhile, this works correctly:

traxsource.com/Pasión+Latina+(Mijangos+Remix)+Inaky+Garcia

Btw, this specific track is big in the sense that it reached #2 in the Afro / Latin / Brazilian (House) Top 100 on March 28, 2021:

https://www.elastic.co/guide/en/elasticsearch/guide/current/asciifolding-token-filter.html

--

--

Sinisa 'Simon' Radovcic
RemixRotation

I maintain RemixRotation and AlgosForCryptos publications…