How I became 10x more productive by using Chrome user profiles.

Vadym Ovcharenko
Remote CEO
Published in
4 min readMar 22, 2021

Look, this world is fucked up. Everyone’s craving your attention.

Your girlfriend sends you 17 texts a minute.

Instagram sends you a post of your high school best friend who you barely now anymore.

Facebook wants your ass.

Oh and don’t forget the 1,001 email newsletters you signed up for to become a superhuman.

Sounds like hell, huh?

How can you possibly focus and get shit done?

I asked that myself too many times.

I was busy building three companies simultaneously until I almost totally burned out and my bipolar went from bad to “I hope I don’t wake up”.

🔔Your friend @randomguy posted for the first time in a while.

Oh, shut up!!!!

It couldn’t go on any more.

While my friend Max was reading a shit ton of productivity books, coming up with ways of putting 1.0037% more on your plate, I decided that less is more.

Less is more, baby.

Switch off completely

First thing I did was to shut myself down on a remote island in the ocean with barely any civilisation.

Then, I turned off my phone for 4 days.

4 days???

Yeah, sounds like a lot, isn’t it? Your mom would start worrying.

Well, my mom did not. I gave her a prior heads up.

Why are we even talking about my mom here 🤷‍♂️

Anyways, I switched off for 4 days riding a motorbike across a barely inhabited tropical island. Felt like fucking FarCry.

But here is what was interesting…

When I picked up my phone after 4 days, I realized a horrible fact!

A monstrous pile of shit awaited me!

923 notifications, 211 emails, 31 texts, 11 missed calls.

But you know what was funny?

Around only 2 percent of it mattered! The rest was just garbage.

Marketing emails, social media spam like birthdays of random people

Wait a minute, does it mean that I have constant stream of shit coming at me?

Yes!

The information bullshit is just so thinly spread out on your sandwich, that eating it is barely noticeable!

Come on man, what does this all have to do with Chrome sub-users?

Wait, we’ll get there.

After unsubscribing from 150 email newsletters, disabling notifications in most apps on my iPhone, deleting my Facebook, leaving a dozen Slacks and channels, my life got much easier.

Waking up to zero notifications on the screen felt like a miracle.

But I was left with one problem.

I couldn’t focus on a particular project while working.

All the slack spaces would turn red every 10 minutes, forcing me to shift my attention and check new messages for a completely different project.

Until the solution has arrived.

Using Chrome Sub-users to separate workspaces on a single machine.

Finally got to the point!

When apps like Spark email had arrived, combining all my email inboxes in one app seemed like a great idea at first.

Having all the workspaces in Slack Desktop also seemed cool.

Yet, mixing together personal, entertaining, educational and work stuff leads to inevitable Attention Deficit Disorder.

Almost every app has a desire for your attention and is going to hunt for it like a predator.

Ok, so what can we do with it?

Almost every app and messenger has a web version.

What if you could just create several Chrome users on your machine and switch your workspaces?

Each one would be isolated from another, have its own browsing history, extensions, saved passwords, etc.

You could even color-code these to bind your brain to a specific project.

In essence, I have all my messengers and apps open in browser tabs, even those for which I previously used desktop apps.

I now have spaces dedicated to Auxility.ca, Scalifier.com, GigRadar.io and a personal space of course.

Sounds great, right?

Then what are you waiting for? Go ahead set it all up and let me know how’d it go.

Also, follow my Twitter please.

--

--

Vadym Ovcharenko
Remote CEO

Create a transparent #GigEconomy. Writing on borderless business and freelance — vadymhimself.com