Cabin fever is real. You and I need a remote support network.

Garrison Snelling
Remote Together
Published in
2 min readFeb 5, 2016

Working remote is one of the greatest disruptions the technology industry has ever had. My dad is a software engineer (In fact both of my mom’s parents are software engineers. Seriously.) and I remember growing up and my dad going from being in an office to a fully remote employee. So I watched him in all of his struggles.

Later as I grew up I decided to pick up the family trade. So when I was 14 I started a small business and made websites for local businesses. Naturally, I did it all from home. I also was home schooled, so I did literally everything from home. Soon enough I was blowing off school to work because 1.) It was so much freakin’ fun. 2.) I was seriously busy.

Now, I am 20 years old, and I work remote for a large company. Over the years I have observed first and second hand the downsides to working remote. I have worked in the office and outside of the office, and I can tell you the benefits to both (And there are benefits to both). Because working remote is such a new trend there are deficiencies that haven’t been addressed — kinks that haven’t been worked out.

So I’m trying to address one of the deficiencies. What’s lacking? Well it’s pretty obvious.

People who work remote lack a support network.

This is an obvious deficiency. I mean, after all you are working remote. You are almost by definition alone. So I’m surprised that nobody has tried to address this blind spot. In any case, I’m addressing it, and this forum is stage one. I am creating this for two reasons 1.) Because we all need more friends who work remote. 2.) Because I need more friends who work remote.

As an industry we need a place to rally to make things better. We need a place to constantly be challenging and improving each other.

So let’s go RemoteTogether.

--

--

Garrison Snelling
Remote Together

Want-to-be entrepreneur, leader, and follower of Jesus.