Working Remote Helped Me Overcome Ageism

Garrison Snelling
Remote Together
Published in
2 min readFeb 6, 2016
18 year old me

One of the latest trends in the world right now is working remote. Working remote does something beautiful and levels the playing field. If you work remote nobody cares about…

  • How old you are
  • The color of your skin
  • Your gender
  • Who you know — cause chances are they don’t know anybody you know.

As a developer I have discovered this first hand. I started out very young and because I worked remote people would often times add 2–8 years (Seriously) to my age. This was super helpful because in an office I would’ve barely been offered internships (I actually got offered my first internship when I was 14 and then they backed out after discovering my age), but working remote meant that I was a valued asset. Just the same as every other employee.

My point is this… Working remote much like most of the internet levels the playing field. Working remote even transcends classes. So it’s perfect for somebody who wants the flexibility or who feels like they’re being taken advantage of. If you are being taken advantage of because of some of the things listed above… Trying working remote. Chances are it’ll solve those problems. At least, it did for me.

Follow us on twitter @RemoteTogether.

Or our website: http://www.remotetogether.com

--

--

Garrison Snelling
Remote Together

Want-to-be entrepreneur, leader, and follower of Jesus.