Re Human Day 127

Valentin Perez
Re Human
Published in
3 min readJan 22, 2019

We are what we repeatedly do. I’m re-inventing myself by improving in 15 areas at a time.

This post is part of my Re Human project.

Daily Habits

Books: Finished The Master Switch and Mere Christianity. Listened to an a16z podcast. Some notes from today:

Personal computers gave the power that big enterprises had on communication, to Everyone.

We need to be continually reminder of what we believe (and want to believe). That’s why Christianity has prayers and churches.

If you don’t have a good feeling / the feeling you want, act as if you did, and these repeated actions will help to create that feeling. (Values).

Meditation: did 20minutes at night.

Digital Drawing: Watched 2 lessons from the Udemy character drawing course I got:

https://www.udemy.com/character-art-school-complete-character-drawing/

Re Human Extended Activity: On Mondays I’m a VR Artist & Architect.

Watched this Blender Guru video on making a lounge room because I thought it looks like it could be a library / like I could use some things for my library:

I was planning on creating a chair / table from scratch but saw he just had some objects (models) saved and he just dropped them in! So I had the idea to just look for existing cool objects and put them in my library. I knew Google had a cloud library where people upload 3D objects, so I searched in there for objects that could be downloaded: https://poly.google.com

added a chair! Figured out how to use the .mtl and the .obj files to actually show the texture, without an image file.

Haven’t forgotten about http://pablotheflamingo.com.

Writing: This post, code, and a daily thought.

Piano: Since I gave my email to the piano in 21 days guy, I got an email today from him about his video course. This was one was accessible without paying for the course, so I clicked on it and watched it:

I had seen a couple of videos about this concept: that soo many pop songs are just these four chords: C major, G major, A minor, F major

But it was still good to see the demonstration of him playing a couple of songs and how he improvised on top of the chords. from just four main chords.

I saw the other free video he had on his website, and then searched in Youtube to see if he had more free videos.

Watched this one on a couple of tools/techniques for improvising, which was actually really good:

Fitness: Today I started with hand-stand push-ups. Then did as many pull-ups in a row as I could (46). Then did Tabata training for jumping squats (20 seconds of all-out exercise, 10 seconds of rest, 8 times) — always such hard 4 minutes. Then some chest.

Soccer trick juggling: Today I got the hop the world trick!! First time I got it. And I got it like 4 times. Filmed myself and had some other videos as I was progressing, so excited to compile them into a nice series showing the progression.

Random Surprise

One of the greats, Chan Chan, by Buena Vista Social Club:

Read the next post. Read the previous post.

See stories on my @re.human instagram.

Receive a free weekly present of the best content I’ve ever found, here 🎁.

--

--

Valentin Perez
Re Human

Co-Founder of learnmonthly.com. I love to understand to create to understand. Learning 15 skills every week. valentinperez.com