Our Top 5 Films of 2016 So Far

KC Biedlingmaier
Renew Theaters
Published in
5 min readJul 19, 2016
Colin Farrell and Rachel Weisz in the strange, hypnotic film “The Lobster” (photo: A24)

Believe it or not, we are already in the middle of 2016. We began to discuss the titles released in the past six months, some upcoming movies, and what we liked and what we missed. Chris and I recently shared an email correspondence counting down some of our favorite titles of 2016 thus far.

Chris: I can’t believe we are already halfway through the year. Looking back over my list, I was actually pleasantly surprised by how many great films we have already had on our screens — and more surprised by how many of our most anticipated titles of 2016 we still have ahead of us.

Mike: Unlike my end of the year list, for me, this mid-way list was very easy to compile. There have been a handful of great movies this year (some that I’ll regrettably have to leave out) but my top five jumped right out at me. Curious what your choices are!

NUMBER 5

Chris: Hunt for the Wilderpeople

Taika Waititi’s comedy totally hits a sweet spot for me. I loved his vampire mocumentary What We Do In The Shadows and his new film was one of my most anticipated at Sundance. A buddy comedy about a hip-hop loving orphan who bonds with a surly Sam Neill in the jungles of New Zealand while on the run from the authorities is charming, zany, action-filled, and hysterical. An indie summer pleaser if there ever was one.

Mike: Love & Friendship

Really looking forward to Wilderpeople. Definitely on my “must-see” list for the summer.

Somehow Whit Stillman managed to out-Whit Stillman himself with this one. It’s a masterfully written Jane Austen adaptation. I’m not a huge Jane Austen fan, but in the hands of Stillman, the text is transformed. Kate Beckinsale steals the show as Lady Susan. I don’t want to wait another 5–10 years for his next project!

NUMBER 4

Chris: Maggie’s Plan

I fell hard for the Greta Gerwig’s screwball sensibilities in Francis Ha and Mistress America. And Rebecca Hall’s newest takes these to a new, classic-Woody-Allen level. This zany love triangle set in Brooklyn hipsterdom is witty, sharp, and features great co-performances by Ethan Hawke and a bonkers Danish-academic-tinted Julianne Moore.

Mike: Green Room

Didn’t play on our screens, but young director Jeremy Sauliner’s third moviewas a knockout. A very grisly film that definitely isn’t for everyone, but it is an expertly-paced thriller filled with the music from some of my favorite bands. Way more artful than your typical horror film, and one to check out if you’re not too squeamish during violent films. Sadly, the film’s lead actor, Anton Yelchin, passed a few days ago. He was immensely talented as is evident in one of his final performances.

Anton Yelchin in “Green Room,” one of his final performances. (photo: A24)

NUMBER 3

Chris: Born to Be Blue

I have to admit that I didn’t really go for this film the first time I saw it. It was not until I did some research into the film’s unique construction that I really came to appreciate it. Instead of a straight forward bio-pic, this look into the life of jazz trumpeter Chet Baker takes a real period of his life and imbues it with a fictional romance. It allows the film dramatic freedom to explore the character of Baker without having to hew exactly to the facts. Oh, and it might be Ethan Hawke’s best performance.

Ethan Hawke during his visit to the Princeton Garden Theatre

Mike: Embrace of the Serpent

I had heard a lot about this movie going into the Oscars this year (it was nominated for Best Foreign Language Film) but didn’t get a chance to see it until a few months later. Wow. I had two hours to kill one afternoon and I popped in to catch this movie and walked out in a daze. Powerful cinematography, unlike anything I’ve seen in a very long time. A mystical, psychedelic, historic allegory? A truly unclassifiable experience with a majorly effective big-screen presence. Despite being in black-and-white, I felt totally immersed in the colors and sensations of the Amazonian jungle.

NUMBER 2

Chris: The Lobster

Yorgos Lanthimos’ darkly comic dystopia and commentary on relationships is going to haunt me for a long time. Not only because the world it creates is so singular and well-constructed, but also because it is just so weird and fascinating. Featuring an amazing ensemble of top-level actors led by a dry straight man performance from Colin Farrell.

Mike: Everybody Wants Some!!

A movie confident enough in its enjoyableness that it employs TWO exclamation points in its title. Linklater’s “spiritual sequel” to the cult hit Dazed and Confused doesn’t disappoint. I found myself smiling ear-to-ear throughout the entire, aimless 2-hour film. The characters aren’t always likable, but they are having so much fun that you find yourself rooting for them regardless. I never wanted it to end!!

NUMBER 1

Chris: Our only overlap so far…Love & Friendship

Whit Stillman’s newest completely charmed me and in Jane Austin’s material he has found the perfect home for his barbed, society-tinged wit. Kate Beckinsale is perfect as the scheming, social-climber Lady Susan. But the real star is Tom Bennett’s delightful doofus Sir James Martin. I agree with Mike and have my fingers crossed that it will not be nearly as long until we see more from Whit.

and upcoming:

There are still a number of tiles on the horizon that I am eager to see. The top one on my list is Jeff Nichols Loving. I also can’t wait to see the audience reaction to some of the films I got to see at festivals already: Morris from America, The Birth of a Nation, and Manchester-by-the-Sea.

Mike: Here comes our second overlap…The Lobster

Yorgos Lanthimos always promises a wholly unique experience, and The Lobsteris nothing if not a surreal, imaginative achievement. I seek out movies like this — films that bend reality and expectation and do so effortlessly. Lanthimos and the other New Wave Greek directors (like Athina Rachel Tsangari, whose new film Chevalier is in my top ten of the year) are really pushing the boundaries of storytelling in new and exciting ways. If you liked The Lobster (or at least were intrigued by it) definitely search for some other recent Greek titles for more singular experiences!

I’m looking forward to the rest of the summer releases, before we get into the big Oscar season titles from October through January. I have high hopes for Captain Fantastic, The Light Between Oceans, The Founder and American Honey. Also, I know I might be alone in this, but Swiss Army Man looks right up my alley. I hope it’s as bizarre as the trailer makes it seem!

Keep an eye out for some of these upcoming titles at our theaters. What are your favorites of 2016 so far? Let us know on Facebook, Twitter, or by commenting below! Enjoy your summer movie-going!

--

--