Sleep Later, Cry Later: The Sadie Fienberg Philosophy

Jana Sayson
Reno People
Published in
4 min readOct 28, 2015

If Hermione Granger’s time-turner existed, University of Nevada, Reno senior Sadie Fienberg could definitely use it.

Journalism student, sorority member, and president of the university’s Ad Club, Fienberg has her hands full. But for now, the absence of her unicorn ponytail signaled a good day for the busy senior.

“You know I’m stressed when my ponytail is up,” she said, pointing out where the ponytail would be (right smack in the middle of her forehead) if it’s a high-stress day.

On top of her existing activities, she was elected the sole Reynolds School of Journalism Senator for the Associated Students of the University of Nevada, or ASUN, last spring.

To Fienberg, the Reynolds School isn’t just a building where she goes for her journalism classes — it’s her second home. As a senior at the University of Nevada, Reno, she has grown very fond of the University, and even more so the college of journalism. So what better way to express this love than to represent Reynolds?

“I am the liaison between the Reynolds School and ASUN as a whole,” she said. “So whenever any constituents, which is you and all your peers [at the Reynolds School] have any issues, they can come talk to me…and I can bring that back to Senate and make those changes and work on those things.”

Seated with the ASUN Senate, she has several responsibilities. Not only does she handle the distribution of funding, passing of legislation, and voting on other issues with the ASUN Senate, she also involves herself closely with the College of Journalism.

“I work a lot with the different professors in our program, I come and talk to the classes sometimes, I work with the dean…so I just kind of have my hand in everything a little bit, which is really fun.”

Fienberg is originally from Los Angeles, transferring from a community college there to the University of Nevada, Reno as a sophomore. Though she was not as involved with clubs and organizations in high school, that definitely changed. Now at Nevada, she fills her days with ASUN, Ad Club, sorority and several other activities to make up for lost time.

A typical day in Fienberg’s very busy life usually begins bright and early at 8am when she comes to campus, and doesn’t end until the early hours of the next day at 2am. In between those hours, she goes to class, works on homework, and bounces to and from several different commitments.

“You guys have all seen the triangle that’s like social life and, like, school work and sleep — you can really only choose two, and that’s how I kinda manage it.”

With a lifestyle like this, Fienberg is an expert with time management. Her kaleidoscopic planner with splashes of orange, blue, green, and pink helps her keep her schedule in check through color coding. “[It’s] like my child and if I lost it I’d probably burst into tears,” Fienberg said.

While others may be intimidated by the extent of Fienberg’s busy schedule, she embraces it.

“You can only stress about it so much,” Fienberg said. “Like, it’s already happening, why do I need to make myself sick? I’d rather just throw my hair up, barrel through it. Sleep later, cry later, complain later.”

In the end, Fienberg has her eye on the prize. “I know I’m doing this for a greater goal. If I wasn’t doing all this, I wouldn’t be graduating.”

Her motivation? Finding a job after graduation will be easier thanks to her experiences and, more importantly, her struggles. She also mentions how students who are involved have not only a better chance of graduating on time but do so with a more equipped tool belt.

Despite the challenges of juggling all these responsibilities, being part of ASUN as the Reynolds School representative has been a positive force in Fienberg’s college experience.

“Everything that I’ve gotten to do, whether it be conferences, workshops or leadership retreats have all benefitted me as a person and as a leader and as a professional,” she said. “Being involved rounds you out as a person.”

--

--

Jana Sayson
Reno People

Just a kid with a camera and a love for cheesecake. UNR Journalism.