Medieval Town of Toruń 中古世紀古城—托倫古城

Toruń, Poland, UNESCO World Heritage Site

Cho-Chun Huang
UNESCO World Heritage Site & Travel

--

The Torun City

Torun is the puzzle for me.

托倫古城對我來說,是一個謎

I through maybe I have seen so many same kinds building building or City in Poland before I went to Torun, so I really don’t know what’s the special of Torun. Why it is the one in the World Heritage list?

我想可能是我在來托倫之前,在波蘭看到過其他很多類似的建築或城市,所以我真的不知道,托倫有甚麼特別的。為什們他能夠被列為世界文化遺產?

Nicolaus Copernicus 哥白尼像

If you read the blog written by the Taiwanese backpackers who have been there, you would see the most of people says it is famous, because it’s Nicolaus Copernicus's birth place. but I don’t think this is the main reason to let it be the World Heritage site.It should be something else.

如果你讀過台灣人的部落格,會發現很多人說托倫之所以有名,是因為這裡是天文學家—哥白尼出生的地方。但我總覺得這應該不是它成為世界文化遺產的主要原因,應該還有其他的原因。

so I decided to go from Gdyansk, I took the train in the morning, and take around 2- 3 hours, I arrived Torun.

所以當時,我決定從格丁斯坦出發,坐了一個早上,2-3小時的火車,到達了托倫市。

Torun train station is not next by the town, I have to pass a bridge, and walked around 15-20 minute, to arrive the old town.

托倫車站並不在市中心,我必須要過一個鐵橋,約走15-20分鐘後,到達古鎮。

The Bridge to go to Torun前往托倫的道路

I think the best view to see Torun city is when you stand on the bridge. this city looks very peace and soft, maybe you could heard some car noises behind you, I think it is another way to prove the activity of this city.

我覺得從鐵橋上看托倫市最好看!!當你站在鐵橋上看著它,你會覺得它非常的安靜與祥和。當然或許你可能也會聽到一些車子引擎聲在你後面呼嘯而過,就把它當作是這座城市的動力吧!!

As I said at the begining, maybe I went to Warsaw and Gdyansk before I came here, If we only discuss about the building, I really feel nothing special in this town, the only thing I felt different was the building of Torun looks bigger than somewhere else, and in Torun, I saw a lot of building built by brick, The most public building built by the brick. They are huge, and not that colorful compare with other city. It is the only ways saw different.but I can feel the whole environment of the town is old, It can make you feel like you are not at the modern city now, but a Medieval city. still, I am so confuse why Torun can be in the list of World Heritage. Maybe it just what Torun is, and it is why Torun can be in the list: the It’s not big, without high population, but a peace and soft city.

就如我一開始所說,或許是我來到托倫之前先到了華沙與格丁斯坦,所以如果只單純討論建築的話,我真的覺得這裡的建築跟其他地方沒甚麼不同,勉強有不同之處的話,我想我會說這裡的建築都比較大些。而且我在這裡看到了不少紅磚的建築,幾乎所有的公共建築都是用紅磚建立的。這是我唯一看到幾點不同之處。但是我可以感覺的到整個城市周遭給我的感覺滿不一樣的,它會讓我感覺我不是在一個現代化城市,但真的是在一個中古城市的感覺。當然,我還是不太明白為什麼托倫古城會被列為世界文化遺產,或許就是因為它現在的這個樣子,就已經中古世紀的樣子了吧!! 一個不大,沒有多少人口,但是和平與祥和的城市。

The Selection criteria of Medieval Town of Toruń as below:

2.“exhibits an important interchange of human values, over a span of time, or within a cultural area of the world, on developments in architecture or technology, monumental arts, town-planning, or landscape design”

4.“is an outstanding example of a type of building, architectural, or technological ensemble or landscape which illustrates a significant stage in human history”

托倫古城符合以下幾點的世界文化遺產評定標準:

2.能在一定時期內或世界某一文化區域內,對建築藝術、紀念物藝術、城鎮規劃或景觀設計方面的發展產生極大影響

4.可作為一種建築或建築群或景觀的傑出範例,展示出人類歷史上一個或幾個重要階段

Postscript:

I went to some other countries after Poland Trip, and I saw quiet lot of World Heritage Sites around the world. Some of them are really makes me feel amazing, Some of them I really feel nothing. Although I’ve got those feeling, or judgement, but recently, I start realize that just my own feeling or opion. The reason why those Historic Place can be high value in the world, is exactly what they are, they don’t need to change. so I asked myself, why I compare/ judge those place?

古堡造型的監獄

後記:

波蘭行之後,我去過很多其他有世界文化遺產的國家,一些世界遺產的確讓我覺得很驚豔,但也有一些讓我覺得沒甚麼。儘管我會有這樣的感覺或批判,但最近,我開始體認到這些都只是我的主觀意識。這些歷史遺跡之所以會成為世界上的高價值的遺產,就是因為他們現在的這個樣子,他們不需要做改變。既然如此,為何我還要比較/評斷這些地方??

Medieval Town of Toruń 中古世紀古城—托倫古城

Toruń, Poland, UNESCO World Heritage Site

--

--