Harry Sunaryo
Replanting Technology
3 min readNov 4, 2023

--

I Tried Twice, But Always Got Turned Down: Let’s Talk About Green Software!

Source: Bing Image Creator

Have you ever heard of Green Software? It’s like the forgotten hero of environmental conversations. I’ve been on a mission to explain how important it is, especially to my friends. But here’s the kicker – every time I’ve tried, they’ve met the idea with skepticism and rejection. Lemme take you through this story, where I’ll unravel the significance of Green Software and the struggle to get the word out.

Sharing the Story

The first time I brought up Green Software, that was so special for me but my friends didn’t quite get it. I was all enthusiastic, telling them how the apps and tech we use actually chew up a ton of energy, adding to our carbon footprint. But they were like, "Can software really make that big of a difference?" The impression wasn’t like what I expected to. Then, I asked myself, was it right way to tell this unfamiliar topic to people?

The Rejection

Firstly, I’m very confident because I knew my friends are Software Engineer and surely they are close to the topic that relates to the Software? But, what was happened just slapped my cheeks. They just ignored. I asked myself again, was I competent to explain this?

Not giving up, I tried again. I armed myself with more info, explaining how writing better code, using data centers more efficiently, and being eco-conscious in tech could really cut down emissions. But still, my friends weren't entirely convinced. "Can this actually happen?" they wondered.

Why It Matters

This rejection got me thinking. Green Software isn't just some idea; it's a big deal for the environment. The tech industry's massive energy use and carbon emissions scream for change. We've got to optimize code, upgrade infrastructure, and be smarter with how we use software – it can really make a huge environmental difference.

Facing Doubt

Sharing the message about Green Software isn’t easy as I expected. Besides, we must be enthusiastic, we have to be vocal or fluent in explaining and narrating. It’s normal for folks to be skeptical, especially about tech and the environment. But showing real-life examples of how eco-friendly software practices have made a difference might just change their minds.

Conclusion

My journey to explain Green Software might have hit a roadblock with my friends' skepticism, but I'm not giving up. It's not just wishful thinking; it's something we can actually do. By keeping the conversation going and showing how tech and the environment can work hand in hand, we might just create a future where Green Software is the norm.

In the end, I only want to trigger more conversations about this. Even, there are a few things those need more research and so on. What I believe is, anyone worry about the Climate Change, and anyone have the responsibility to do more as the solutions.

Lemme know if there’s anything else you’d like me to modify or if you have specific points to include!

--

--