How I Designed My First Logo

Nares
reportbee
Published in
5 min readNov 6, 2017

--

I’m new to the design field and no previous experiences too. But I know to use the tools and will do tracing work. Also this is the first time I’m writing a documentation. Just 3 weeks before I started to learn about logo designing. I have joined as an intern in a company called Report Bee. My Design Chief gave me a scenario.

The scenario is Usain Bolt going to start a running shoe company so I have to design a logo for it.

At first I have sketched few logos. Yes not that good in sketching too. Some of my logo sketches are shown below.

Logo Sketches in the initial stage

When I showed these sketches to him he said these are not logos. Then he asked me to do some research on sports shoe logos.

So I done a presentation on top 15 sports shoe logos by searching the web. Now I have the story and the reason for the logos.

I got some ideas how the sports shoe logos are designed. Again a presentation was done on top 10 brand logos. By doing this you will know the reason why the top brand logos are very famous.

Implementing the ideas

Once the ideas are gathered we should implement them right. So I implemented the ideas and started to do some sketching again. Yes there was a great improvement, I was able to feel that. The result was a typography style logo which is shown below.

Typography style logo

This typography logo indicates the running tracks. But again the sketching was continued to get a proper logo and the output is shown below.

Logo created using shoe and letter B concept

Stuck in a circle

Now the problem is I was stuck in a circle. My logo was only focused on the shoe and the letter B. Then I came up with another logo which is shown below.

In this logo you can able to see a arrow. The name of the arrow is “bolt arrow” which is used in crossbow. But still I was stuck with the name Bolt and sports shoe only. So my Design Chief told me to do mind mapping.

When you do mind mapping you will get out of the box ideas.

Mind Mapping

Mind Mapping process

By doing the mind mapping process got some keywords from which only top 3 were selected.

The keywords are SPEED, GOLD MEDAL and 9.58

Sketched some of the ideas in the paper

Gold medal concept

This logo represents as a person is wearing a gold medal and the thunderbolt symbol indicates the power.

9.58 concept (Usain Bolt World record in 100m)

Now we have two concepts, I selected the 9.58 concept and picked the 3rd logo in it and done the refining process using circles.

Refining Process

Refining the logo using circles

After doing this process the result was good which is shown below.

Created in Fill

Here I created the logo in fill, So tried the same logo using stroke which is shown below.

Created in Stroke

In stroke it looks good than in fill. Now the color part is to be done. I used the colors from the Jamaica flag.

The final logo

Story and hidden things in the logo

Story

9.58

This logo indicates 9.58 which is nothing but Usain Bolt world record in 100m is 9.58 seconds. At first I started to design the logo for the sports shoe but in the end the result looks like a symbol (or icon) for Usain Bolt.

Hidden things

In the logo I have extended the number 5 in a direction and then curved it which forms an angle. There is a reason behind it. Got an inspiration from a Youtube video. The title says “How Usain Bolt Smashed The 100m World Record”. You can watch the video here.

One of the main reason for his speed is his start. He have worked on his start technique for countless hours. You can also watch this video . The title says How to improve your start | Usain Bolt.

The hidden thing in the logo is shown below.

We can able to see the get set position in this logo. His “get set position” will be an unique one when compared to others. These are the story and hidden things behind this logo.

All the corrections, suggestions and ideas to improve my logo was given by my Design Chief. Thanks JACK :)

If you like this blog do appreciate, comment and share it.

👋🏾 Get to know the people and ideas shaping the products we use every day. Subscribe to Noteworthy — the product & design newsletter written by the Journal team.

--

--