My Reading Life & Habits

--

My reading habits have dramatically changed over many years, as I slowly developed from a person who only read when forced to an avid reader, who read every day, and found lots of pleasure and joy from novels. I personally think that reading is a fundamental step in improving and enhancing your English skills, not only will you discover new words and slowly familiarize yourself with new writing techniques that you have learnt from different authors, at some point, you will find a book that you thoroughly enjoy reading, and after that, you will continue to look for more enjoyable books to read.

Reading for me was not a thing that I primarily used to learn new words, or discover writing techniques, I found that I would always be eager to find the meaning of new words when I read, however, this disrupted my reading, so I stopped looking for new words, but instead searched for authors whom wrote novels and series which I enjoyed. I used reading as a relaxation technique, and anyone else can do the same, just find a place where you are alone, and with minimal noise, maybe going to the park, or just in your bedroom, sit down and have a read. After doing this on a daily basis, I soon realized the joy and excitement that these novels brought to me, I was extremely fascinated with these stories, and the plots that these authors presented to me made me feel like I was a part of them.

I honestly believe that reading is extremely important in anyone’s lives, not only reading novels, but reading other things, such as the news. The novels or articles that you read will establish a connection between you and the world and will often bring joy and pleasure to you. If you spend enough time developing your reading habits and finding a genre, author or series that you enjoy, there will be many benefits that come with this discovery. You will have a new hobby and a new source of pleasure and will feel a new connection to books. Even if you’ve had a bad history with books, don’t let that drag you down, go to your nearest library and pick a few books, one of those will certainly be a book you enjoy, and after that you would not hesitate to flip through those pages.

--

--