International #DayoftheGirl

Mauricio Angarita
Republic of Humanity
2 min readOct 11, 2017

Girl empowerment means investment on a solid future for our society. You can do it every day in your community. #DayOfTheGirl

We want to share relevant and compelling stories to celebrate our girls on this important day.

Counting

Can you count with me? As high as you can go. I know many numbers.

Dipu

Student

Munnar

State of Kerala

India

Future Hope

I love school and love learning. Most of my friends don’t. Math and science are my favorite subjects. My mother and father want me to help more in the rice fields. I just hope that I can stay in school.

Quy

Student

Elementary School

Sapa

Vietnam

Learning to Dance

Every year my son and I dance in the festival. She cannot dance as women and girls are now allowed. Some traditions in this country are good. Others, like this one, need to change.

Ugyen

Dancer

Tamshing Phala Chhoepa Festival

Bumthang

Bhutan

Upside Down

Actually, I prefer to see ever thing like this… upside down. The more I practice the longer I can stay like this. How long can you stand on your hands?

Josefina

Sports Academy

Havana

Cuba

Dancing Queens

We both are going to dance for the national ballet in Havana. We have no doubts. We practice in the mornings, evenings and weekends while the others are out playing. Our instructor always says that we have to remain one hundred percent focused and only think about dancing.

Natalia and Geraldine

Ballet students walking to the studio

Santiago

Cuba

--

--

Mauricio Angarita
Republic of Humanity

#Entrepreneur #Calidoso Founder & CEO of The Thumb Fighter.