Republic of Humanity Team
Republic of Humanity
2 min readOct 16, 2017

--

Photos and Stories of the Week, Oct. 9th

“The greatness of humanity is not being human, but being humane.”

-Mahatma Gandhi

The Next Generation

My grandchildren don’t understand what we have been through. I think we have tried to protect them from hardships. We do it out of love, but sometimes I think that we are making a mistake by protecting them so much.

Chau
Fisherman and grandmother
Hội An
Vietnam

Heirloom

My family acquired this sometime in the 16th century. The eldest son of every generation has worn it. If I had only one wish, it would be to see who is wearing this four generations from now.

Imad
Owner
Textile Shop
Taznakht
Ouarzazate Province
Morocco

Cocoon

This is the first time Daya has been allowed to attend the Kumbh Mela Festival. “My father said I could come this year as long as I stayed close to him,” he says “I’m so excited.”

Daya
Pilgrim and Worshiper
Kumbh Mela Festival
Nasik
India

Attention Seeker

He always wants all the attention. You asked for a picture of me, and he has to be part of it. I love him, but he does tire me.

Francisco
Grandfather
Road between Trinidad and Camagüey
Cuba

Huasa

After my children and sometime my husband, there is nothing I love more than my horses. They allow me to be in control. When I ride them its the only time I feel that I am in control of my life.

Claudia
Huasa (Cowgirl)
Pucon
Chile

--

--

Republic of Humanity Team
Republic of Humanity

“There are no nations! There is only humanity. And if we don’t come to understand that right soon, there will be no nations, because there will be no humanity.”