Dear World, We’re Sorry.

Sheldon Clay
Requiem for Ink
Published in
2 min readJan 27, 2017

--

Photo by Jen Abbey from the Women’s March in Minneapolis.

I’m pretty sure I speak for a lot of Americans, maybe most of us, when I say this. I’m sorry about the unpleasantness in our nation’s capital. We’ve given a big microphone to a man many hoped would rise to the occasion. Instead he made us sound like a nation of self-centered dickwads.

That’s not America. Look at what happened the day after the inauguration of our vainglorious president #45. Women took to the streets by the millions to demonstrate that the better half of our nation is still out there. Intact and ready to make some noise. So don’t give up on us, World. We have no intention of trading the City on the Hill for a tawdry Fifth Avenue penthouse.

I know the next four years will not be easy. Getting through them is going to require courage and sacrifice. The dismal inaugural address made this all too clear. I don’t even need to read between the lines to know where I stand.

The president of my country is the enemy of my world. He is the enemy of my beautiful land with its purple mountain majesties. He is the enemy of the air I breathe and the water I drink. He is the enemy of my children. He is the enemy of my community. He is the enemy of justice.

The president of my country is the enemy of truth.

These are not easy concepts to internalize.

We are at the moment where we’re supposed to put the bitterness of the campaign season behinds us. We’re supposed to come together as a nation and heal. When our new president gave his red-faced inaugural address he declared himself the enemy of healing itself.

So, World, it looks like if we’re going to come together we’ll need to do it on our own. There’ll be no help from the current occupant of the oval office. The Women’s March on January 21st was exactly the new beginning we needed. It felt like the first moment of hope for my country in months.

Here’s the thing to keep in mind. America First is nothing but an empty set of words if America doesn’t buy into it. The new president knows that. He’s a ratings guy. That’s why he turned into a complete bag of nuts his first week in office. He knows there’s a great big Real America out here, and we’re not buying what he’s selling. We care too much about our world. We still believe America should be the greatest thing to happen to it.

We have work to do, World. There is hope in knowing we’re in this together.

Note: if you think this is useful please help get it out into the world with recommends, shares etc.

--

--

Sheldon Clay
Requiem for Ink

Writer. Observer of mass culture, communications and creativity.