What is a UX Librarian?

Kelly Dagan
researchops-community
8 min readOct 19, 2018

--

Photo by Kaleidico on Unsplash

That’s a great question. Inquiring minds want to know:

https://twitter.com/katetowsey/status/1029661846754619393

And so, here to help answer are two professionals at the intersection of UX and libraries: Kelly Dagan and Courtney Greene McDonald. The following are some of our thoughts!

what does “UX Librarian” mean to you?

KD: I remember the first time I introduced myself as a “UX librarian” to a group of people outside libraries.

They were designers and researchers from a plethora of companies, and they looked at me curiously.

“Wait, so you manage pattern libraries?”

“Uh, no,” I explained, “I do the same things you do, just in the context of an academic library.”

“Ohhhhh,” everyone chorused.

“I wish someone would manage my pattern library,” someone muttered, crestfallen.

User experience has permeated lots of fields, and libraries are no exception. I spend much of my time working on how to help distracted, stressed, anxious people accomplish the things they need to do in a day. To me, UX librarian means, “librarian who works to ensure that our systems, spaces…

--

--

Kelly Dagan
researchops-community

User Experience Strategist in higher ed, writing about information systems, UX, & design. Featured in UX Collective & The Startup.