Writing for success I

Femi Oladele
Research writing
Published in
2 min readJan 4, 2017

Writing assignments and term paper I

The issues of writing remain a priority in higher education and in industry as well. Some higher education providers now permit students to sit for examinations using laptops or PCs apart from computer-based examination (CBE) platforms, such that students can type and send via email and/or print for submission, while some even allow BYOD. However, the digital divide is real in Nigeria, because while CBE platforms are widely used, it is still in the elementary stage.

This brings me to a conclusion that learning the art of writing is imperative for graduation, which is in the forms of writing for tests, assignments, seminar papers, term papers, essays and ultimately examinations.

Today’s post introduces learning the art of writing assignments and term papers. Some of my major suggestions are:

1. Resolve to write by yourself: Many students do not want to write and feel they can hire, implore or engage someone to write for them. If you do not want to write by yourself, I will suggest you stop reading my piece.

2. Read a lot: I have found that many of my students who have challenges writing do not like to read. If you read, you broaden your horizon and when I say read, note that I am referring to academic and scholarly write ups. I am not discouraging you from reading from other sources (I read Christian literature and the Bible), but for your assignments and term papers, read good academic materials. You can find these sources online even in Nigeria from Google Scholar, Emerald, Elsevier, Sage, Wiley, Springer, Taylor & Francis etc.

3. Write by inspiration: Inspiwriting is what I call it. You don’t have to understand what you are writing at the first time, just write, and then later make sense of what you are writing.

See you again next time.

--

--

Femi Oladele
Research writing

Author of Tripartite Accounting. I'm #DESIRE #WSFE #weinspire... #AccountingEducator #Academic #Researcher #Maverick