The World’s Not For Left-Handed People!!

Alwaz.
ResilientMinds
Published in
3 min readAug 14, 2023

--

A lefty, right? Stuck up in managing the things that aren’t meant for you!

Photo by Yura Fresh on Unsplash

Yesterday afternoon, I was experimenting with stuff(spare parts) in the garage, to the point that; my right hand were covered in grease and black oil. During this time, my phone had rung at least thrice. Not willing to massage my new phone with oil, I used my left hand to unlock it. Suddenly I realized a button did not exist on the left, and I had to go, all the way round to check in.

I felt noetic!

Although I managed it but, a very disturbing thought originated deep inside me. Had I been a lefty, it would be a great disadvantage. You, just cannot use the fingerprint with ease, and it just doesn’t make sense to go around and scan your finger.

For a moment, putting myself in the place of a left-handed person, I came to realize that most objects around us are meant for use by the more-popular right hand. It has been reported that almost 2500 people die each year using right-handed products. I once even read about workers getting injured badly, by using a cutting tool- that was, designed for righties. It’s too sad.

We live in a world with 10% of the people being left-handed, which counts to (approximately) 780 million. These people live life the same way as we do. Still, they’ll find themselves left out of consideration when they find out products that really don’t fit them. A perfect example would be from my classroom. You will find chairs with elbow support only on the right. I would find the lefties struggling to write on something that, wasn’t engineered for left-handed use.

Photo by Pro Church Media on Unsplash

Lefty’s, opened by Majua in San Francisco in 2008, is the dream place for the lefthanded. It’s a store where specially designed products are available only for left-handed. For example, the scissors which, are naturally designed for the right hand, are available at Lefty’s, designed for easy use with the left hand. It is the one-stop solution for the minority; in a world of right-handers.

“We compared the differences in DNA sequence between a very large group of left-handers and a large group of right-handers,” said Dr Akira Wiberg. “And what that showed was that there were four regions in the genome where the two groups were significantly different on average.”[ source: CBSNews]. In essence, it’s our different brain structuring that; defines us as being left or right-handed.

By the way, I think; it’s really cool to be a left-hander!!

--

--