Why I’m Deleting Facebook After 16 Years

It’s time to put this to an end.

Emily Steinbach
ResilientMinds

--

Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

When I signed up on Facebook back in 2008, I never thought it would become a long-term addiction. I remember it being a relatively new thing, and I thought it was amazing I could reach out to friends at the click of a button. Little did I know that it would steal my life, family, and productivity away from me. Had I known scrolling through Facebook would hijack my dopamine receptors so much similar to how a drug would, I probably wouldn’t have signed up.

Little did I know I’d be hooked.

Don’t get me wrong, I’ve had my fair share of addiction before.

Ambien.

Nicotine.

Gaming.

Alcohol.

You name it i’ve done it.

Yet, there is just something about Facebook. Out of everything else, it is something I still have yet to quit.

Is this just me?

Can I ever quit?

I Cant. Stop. Scrolling.

Don’t even get me started on Youtube.

It’s the same thing.

How did it ever get like this?

I blame the government. They knew exactly what they were doing and how they would get us hooked.

They put the notification button there for a reason; it’s essential a slot machine right at home. Playing recklessly with our dopamine receptors, not giving a da*m who would get addicted.

(Excuse my french)

Anyways, I guess I better start figuring ways to quit this addiction, much like everything else. It will be hard but I could use some support from you guys.

Wish me luck on quitting!

If you or someone you know is battling a social media addiction, say “I” in the comments! We are here to support eachother.

--

--