A black life

Mitul Bhat
Resistance Poetry
Published in
2 min readJun 4, 2020
Photo by Julian Wan on Unsplash

Minutes later, I wake up in my bed,

startled, gasping for air.

I open the window and let in some fresh air.

Something strange is filling up my lungs.

I can’t breathe.

Is the house too smoky?

Ahh! Maybe the cake’s made, I reminisce.

I walk over and open the oven door.

The cake, as I see, is half baked.

Eight minutes and forty-six seconds more before the timer goes off.

Time enough for a smoke!

I step onto the porch.

And dig into my pocket looking for the cigarettes,

I had only just bought.

I find one and light.

My lungs can take the smoke no more.

I can’t breathe.

I stub the butt and walk out on the street.

A police car passes me by, and I hurriedly step onto the sidewalk.

Like always, they make me uncomfortable. More so today.

A black life is best not noticed.

My anonymity, my only ally!

I turn a corner.

I stand in front of the store; that had just sold me the cigarettes.

I see police cars, and a light crowd.

“Black lives matter,” I hear someone shout.

I want to scream in support, but I can not.

Curious, I push through the crowd.

I see myself lying on the street,

pinned lifeless beneath a knee.

A display of abject power and absent humanity

I can’t breathe.

There lying lifeless on the street I learn,

The price of a black life,

A mere twenty dollars.

The time it takes to end that life,

Less than eight minutes.

The number of times that life can plead,

sixteen, then at least, I could no more!

Minutes later, I wake up in my bed,

startled, gasping for air.

This time I don’t rush to open the window.

I close my eyes instead.

The oven timer goes off!

--

--

Mitul Bhat
Resistance Poetry

A father, husband, friend, designer, writer, beer and tea lover in exactly the same order! Based out of the San Francisco Bay Area. www.mitulbhat.com