Statue of David by Bernini
Photo by Mateus Campos Felipe on Unsplash

Advantage Goliath

Emma Briggs
Resistance Poetry
Published in
1 min readJun 1, 2020

--

Sometimes human cruelty defeats me,
so I can’t remember how to move.
The temptation to lie still is strong,
as world events trample me in the mud.
I cannot always reach the strength
to breathe through the knee in the neck.
I forget the point of trying to fight
the monolithic monster of stupid hate,
which seems to keep winning
no matter how wrong it can be.

Oh, I know somewhere a heart still beats.
Knowledge has grown and we have
walked forward through history, at times.
Many ideas are better than before,
even if it’s hard to see clearly
though this chaotic moment.

Honestly, I don’t want to quit
and I realise I don’t have the right,
but on days like today I simply don’t know where
to find the energy necessary
to keep throwing rocks at the giant.

--

--

Emma Briggs
Resistance Poetry

Australian writer, environmental activist, hang-gliding assistant & former sailor, journalist & clown. Poetry collection available now. www.emmabriggs.net