TrumPooning Tunes

Another Round Of Silence

Sung to Simon&Garfunkel’s The Sound of Silence ←Play it, Sing it

Harper Thorpe
Resistance Poetry
Published in
2 min readJun 10, 2020

--

Mitch McConnell and other GOP senators duck reporters questions about Trump’s use of force on peaceful protesters; so he could clear Lafayette Square for a photo op in front of St. John’s church. (Image Source)

Hello Senator, my friend
I‘ve done more things you can’t defend
Beware the press corp will pursue you
Tell them what I did you value
If you question that I might have gone insane
Just abstain
Walk past the press in silence

Dictatorship, we are not yet
Peaceful protests are a threat
Need to counter with a white rant
This “Black Lives Matter” is their racist chant
Our response will be “All Lives Matter” to undermine
Their change headline
And then, revert to silence

Over my White House “wall” I saw
Ten thousand people, maybe more
Who’s that marching, is that Romney?
GOP should shun him strongly
Is he daring me — to gas marchers while he’s there?
I’ll take that dare
When he can’t breathe, he’ll silence

--

--

Harper Thorpe
Resistance Poetry

Engaged citizen, poet, musician, humorist, family man. I value irreverence, soulfulness, and a big heart. Offering insight, introspection, shock & aw shucks!