As Moses Slept in The Shade of The Sphinx

John Gillen
Published in
2 min readNov 27, 2020

--

As Moses slept in the shade of the Sphinx
The sand around his mind was cleared
Then the beast stood
And they exchanged blinks

See thou I as thou art, or doest thou foolest these mine eyes?
If thou be he whom now I see, teach me wisdom’s mystery

If thou dig and set me free
I will give thee Pharoah’s ring

And the Great Arcanum?
The Caduceus and Staff?

Iod-Hei-Vav-Hei
Shem-Ham-Aphorash
Worship and Sinai will burn holy ash

Fire and lighting and pillar of smoke
Such a promise is something no man dare hope
Yea, shall I rise to push desert away?
And do honor this temple of the Zep Tepi Kings?

Aye Gods, no Kings
No Kings, but Gods
Keep thy faith here not at odds
Remove from me these Earthen clods
And I will give thee Elohim’s rods

So deal was struck and oath was given
And neither believed the bargain he’d driven

So the lawgiver swept all the sand from the Sphinx
And returned more than rested from his forty winks

And the Israelite’s God is still well revered
And that temple from sand is always kept cleared
But the mysteries they shared were mistrusted and feared
So the knowledge there yielded has disappeared

--

--