At Least I Don’t Live There.

Emma Briggs
Published in
1 min readJul 8, 2020

--

A second wave has begun in Australia,
but at least I don’t live in the States.
Student fees are climbing higher each year,
but at least I don’t live in the States.
All the doctors in town charge above Medicare,
but at least I don’t live in the States.
Rents are so high people live in their cars,
but at least I don’t live in the States.
This government thinks the future’s in gas,
but at least I don’t live in the States.
Mining companies pay off politicians,
but at least I don’t live in the States.
The Prime Minister’s a whack, happy clapper,
but at least I don’t live in the States.

Our nation was founded on white supremacy
and Indigenous people are dying in jail.
We’re killing the coral, koalas and trees.
All summer our skies were red with fire.

Is it really any better over here?

--

--

Emma Briggs
Resistance Poetry

Australian writer, environmental activist, hang-gliding assistant & former sailor, journalist & clown. Poetry collection available now. www.emmabriggs.net