foto©robcullen18122015

Athene Noctua

Rob Cullen
Resistance Poetry
Published in
2 min readDec 12, 2020

--

-

Black boughed oaks, snow whitened hills

remnants of a great wood cut for Lydney’s iron mills.

-

I searched alone, a white haired boy,

catching unclean little owls with the slow sweep

of a green wool sweater.

-

I stared long in the eyes,

of Tawnies, that in another age cured madness.

-

Jackdaws called my name from the river bank,

I saved them, from the waters rise,

wrapped them clustered close, in a dark green jerkin,

fed them and on another day let them go back to the wild.

-

I dreamt of eagles, hawks and falcons,

but Robins flew to my call, and sat still in my hand.

-

At St Anne’s strand in the West of Ireland, black Jack ravens,

clawed at my brow, trying to roost in dusks gathering darkness,

while I stood listening to the Atlantic rollers roar,

and the weeping sigh of the one I loved.

--

--

Rob Cullen
Resistance Poetry

Rob Cullen artist, writer, poet, artist — admires Lorca, the view of my garden, the thoughts of my sheepdog. Likes cooking what I grow. www.celfypridd.co.uk