Bleary-Eyed

A Poem

Jonathan Greene
Resistance Poetry

--

Photo by Mitchell Griest on Unsplash

Living in the upside-down
leaves me listless and apathetic
My eyes a deadened version
of who I once was
A sacrificial lamb to society
interwoven into the background
A stitch in time
even though it’s standing still
and I can’t sleep

Bleary-eyed and passive
I watch it all unfold
and all I really want to do
is to fold it back up
into a neat square
and then fold it again
and hide it in my shirt pocket
where I left my hope

My eyes tell a story
that sounds like a tale
One I couldn’t believe
unless I was living it
Day in, day out
I see the future handprint
fading away into oblivion
and I wonder when
the world will dust me

I quit time because it didn’t matter
but now everything is backward
Lunch, breakfast, dinner
A morning routine that starts
in the dead of the…

--

--

Jonathan Greene
Resistance Poetry

Father, podcast host, poet, writer, real estate investor/team leader, certified life coach. Curating a meaningful life. IG: trustgreene | trustgreene.com