Photo by Olga Kononenko on Unsplash

Cancer Doesn’t Wait

Surgery during COVID-19

Carmen Fong, MD
Published in
1 min readMay 21, 2020

--

After a day of surgery
there’s no doing anything creative
As if
Standing for six hours in the operating room
Taking things apart and putting them back together
Didn’t require any artistic ability.

My armpits are soaked
The room is warmed to prevent the patients’
Hypothermia
My feet kinda hurt and the beep
Of the monitor is kind of annoying.

But what can I say?
Cancer doesn’t wait
I hate it, but
Cancer doesn’t stand in line at Starbucks
Or hang around after the soccer game
It doesn’t ask for a minute of your time
While you’re on a business call with Tokyo.
No, it gives zero fucks what the humans think
Blaring loud ass music from a lowrider car
Standing creepily just beyond the corner of your eye

I’m really tired but cancer doesn’t care

-c.f.fong

For more content, visit my Medium profile; or my LinkTree for scholarly work, or Subscribe to my monthly newsletter, Flying Penguins, which is a digest of my best work every month as well as completely new pieces written just for the newsletter, delivered directly to your Inbox!

--

--

Carmen Fong, MD
Resistance Poetry

Writer, artist, surgeon NYC>> ATL. LGBTQ+ Asian. Doximity Op Med Fellow ‘22-’23. www.carmenfong.com, https://linktr.ee/Hongkongfong