Dear Daddy,

A poem on hypocrisy

Sandhya Ganesh
Resistance Poetry
1 min readSep 4, 2020

--

Photo by Eli DeFaria on Unsplash

Dear Daddy,
You taught me how to ride
Then locked my bike in the garage
Fearing my safety
Now you say I drive like a girl
Why the hypocrisy?

Dear Brother,
You protect me, your sister
From men who provoke
But you become one of them
For the sisters of other men
Why the hypocrisy?

Dear Mother,
You fell in love,
You married the man you love
When I came to you about mine
You shamed me saying it’s not true
Why the hypocrisy?

Dear Girlfriends,
We are women,
Just like the one who sat next to us,
But you had fun, jeering at her
Calling her fat, despite her tears
Why the hypocrisy?

Every day we put down
One of our own
But we expect equal rights
How? How is it possible?
With all this hypocrisy?

This is a poem reaching out to people to consider not just their own but also others who suffer the same plight.

--

--

Sandhya Ganesh
Resistance Poetry

I travel beyond yonder yet my reflections stay behind.