evolving

Kelli Nowers
Resistance Poetry
Published in
2 min readJan 24, 2020
October, atop Primrose Hill in London

I have heard it said
as our species has evolved
we have learned to ask better questions
or is it that our evolving
is a product of better questions?
It seems true enough
they asked how to stay warm
when the sun disappeared
how to share stories
when the spirit of the storyteller left the body
how to go higher
how to live longer
how to see the unseen
how to count the stars

I have heard it asked
if a tree falls in the forest and
nobody was around to hear it
did it make a sound but
I am too preoccupied with questions like
if he forced himself on me and
I was wearing a dress that asked for it
was it really rape or
if he was abused by the system
behind before birth
and requires support from that same system
does he deserve it or
if they want to be They
but the rest of them can’t
reconcile it with their grammar gods
do They exist or
if I am shot by a gun with
inalienable rights
am I just a casualty of liberty or
if a tree falls in the forest and
nobody was around to care
did our protests make a sound

I have heard that our species has stopped evolving and
I wonder what that means for me?

--

--