Fire Raining Down

Jk Mansi
Resistance Poetry
Published in
1 min readSep 28, 2018

This is How Triggering Feels to a Survivor

At the end of today watching old white men in the Senate tear down a sexual assault survivor.

Fire raining down my face
soaking my dog’s fur.
it feels good to be angry…

it’s good to be angry!

instead of filled with despair
not having had a voice
as a child or a woman

I thought it was too late

but its not. my tears of anger
are louder than my tears of pain
from yesterday.

Watching the Senate Judiciary Hearings for Brett Kavanaugh (even using his name soils my art) today has been challenging for survivors of sexual assault. I stand in solidarity with all survivors of trauma, and with those on whom the burden of proof is placed rather than on the perpetrators. ✊ 💪

--

--

Jk Mansi
Resistance Poetry

To know where you're going find out where you've been. I strive to be joyful. I read. I write. I’m grateful.