Photo by Anna Pelzer on Unsplash

Food

Emma Briggs
Published in
1 min readAug 4, 2020

--

It consumes me, as I consume it.
What is in it, where does it come from, how and when was it made?
Who was exploited and what was killed to bring it to my plate?
Squinting at labels, weighing the options,
shopping’s a thorny operation.
Country of origin, carbs, proteins, carbon emissions, B12,
probiotics, pesticides, GMOs, omega-3.
Will he eat it?
Price?
Before I sleep, I count the vegetables
I’ve ingested the day before.
When I wake, I plan new menus.
I don’t think this is normal.
The obsession could be unhealthy
but it weirdly satisfies me.
Creating and eating every meal
is a highlight in my day.

--

--

Emma Briggs
Resistance Poetry

Australian writer, environmental activist, hang-gliding assistant & former sailor, journalist & clown. Poetry collection available now. www.emmabriggs.net