POETRY

Forgetting How To Be Human

Carmen Fong, MD
Resistance Poetry
1 min readMay 22, 2020

--

Photo by Kira auf der Heide on Unsplash

Forgetting how to be
How to be human
I spent five minutes trying to put on a bra
Convinced my breasts were on my back.

We went out to Home Depot
And both forgot to bring wallets
Basic hygiene is questionable
Metrocards seem non-essential

I scurry away from my unmasked neighbors
Make excuses for my hair to the doorman
My eyeballs hurt, vaporized by sunshine
preferring the dim gleam of my multiple devices.

It’s not like we haven’t been hustling
But we haven’t been outside
Except for my deployment and those days are a blur of sweat and scrubs
(Your health is never questioned when you’re in uniform)

For more content, visit my Medium profile; my LinkTree for everything including scholarly work, or Subscribe to my monthly newsletter, Flying Penguins Plus, which is a digest of my best work every month as well as completely new pieces written just for the newsletter, delivered directly to your Inbox!

--

--

Carmen Fong, MD
Resistance Poetry

Writer, artist, surgeon NYC>> ATL. LGBTQ+ Asian. Doximity Op Med Fellow ‘22-’23. www.carmenfong.com, https://linktr.ee/Hongkongfong