Girl Power

Things are looking up, ladies

Jen Kleinknecht
Resistance Poetry

--

Photo by Olenka Kotyk on Unsplash

I was born with a vagina,
So life’s been nothing but angina.
I’m a bitch or I’m a whiner,
Lamenting first world problems at the diner.

Underestimated and ignored,
Tired and saddled down with chores,
I’m a prude or I’m a whore,
Always wishing, wanting more.

I cannot have it all at once.
Whoever said that was a dunce,
A snake oil salesman. Thanks a bunch.
There’s no such thing as a free lunch.

Some days I wonder how I’m coping,
How I’m smiling, dreaming, hoping.
Caffeine’s my drug and I’ve been doping.
I’ve got cramps, but I’m not moping.

But now I have an upbeat feeling,
Because Kamala broke the ceiling.
In the White House, wheeling, dealing,
Not stooping, serving, nodding, kneeling.

This is our time. This is our hour.
Victory is sweet, though Donald’s sour.
The world’s my oyster to devour.
My veins are coursing with girl power.

Our veins are coursing with girl power.

--

--