POETRY

Hierarchy

free verse poetry

James G Brennan
Resistance Poetry
Published in
1 min readAug 5, 2020

--

Photo by Frank Eiffert on Unsplash

I have no wish to be a part of it,
I can’t escape it.
It’s all around me, suffocating,
Play by the rules or get out.

No time for nurture
The pretense of acceptance
Soon finds an air of pomposity,
Stifling stagnant air.

Feeding off each other’s
Back slapping ignorance,
Proof of their unbridled vanity.
I have no wish to be in your club
Save it for your arrogant selves.
Your knowledge is limited,
As it is blind.

Thank you Meg for giving my words a platform here at Resistance Poetry.
Thank you for reading. J.

--

--

James G Brennan
Resistance Poetry

Writes free to read eclectic free verse poetry. "Everything in life is writable about" Sylvia Plath.