Holding Hands Across Fences

Breanna Lowman
Resistance Poetry
Published in
1 min readMar 30, 2020

--

Photo by Alvin Mahmudov on Unsplash

Ok, I get it, we disagree
but can we get back to decency?
I don’t have to hate you
you don’t have to hate me.

Where is the understanding and the love?
Why do we fight each other, can’t we rise above?
What about humility and kindness my friends?
Let’s please please please not give up on them.

For I see a future not far away
where polarized sides come together as one.
They hold hands across fences
and look into the others eyes with compassion.

And the conversations had
are not about being right.
Instead they bring connection
and understanding to unite.

I believe in this future hope
but I won’t just wait for it to come.
I will play into this new song now
making kindness and love my ever-beating drum.

Breanna Lowman 2020

Thank you for reading. If you like this, you may also like the following poems.

--

--

Breanna Lowman
Resistance Poetry

Poet, writer, creative enthusiast. Wife and mother of three. Lover of different cultures and perspectives. Passionate about authenticity and bridge building.