I Wish for You a Love that Takes Your Breath Away (Sonnet)

Christine Salkin Davis
Resistance Poetry
Published in
1 min readJul 24, 2019
Pixabay

I wish for you a love that takes your breath away.
On you to shine the morning sun; the birds to sing
for you. I wish much happiness for you today.
I wish the rainy sky much flowers to you bring,

so many that they form your favorite bouquet.
I wish you find the lovely life you want; take wing,
explore, and love yourself; your beauty heart, the way
your blushing skin and sparkling eyes in joy forth spring.

Ignore the insults, threats, indifferent stares, I pray —
small men who make you feel like objects or playthings,
possess you not, do not control your fate. Inveigh
against their caustic scorn; there is no need to cling

to them; I wish you truly knew what you are worth.
I wish you million tons of happiness on earth.

© Christine Salkin Davis, 2019

Originally published at https://www.focaildoachara.com on July 24, 2019.

--

--

Christine Salkin Davis
Resistance Poetry

I write a blog called "Focail do a Chara," a compilation of arts-based, poetic, and narrative thoughts on living and dying, caring and being.