Photo by Monika Grabkowska on Unsplash

In Mourning

What anosmia feels like

Carmen Fong, MD
Published in
1 min readMay 14, 2020

--

Days like today
When the rain is pouring
A sheet of sleet no one can see through.
I’m in mourning, this morning
Over my smell memory.

I dreamt last night that
A deep whiff and there was
The pepper of pepperoni,
The floral fragrance of oranges and peaches and strawberries.
The new green of mint.

I thought I smelled
The deep fat musk of chicken, the earthy grain it ran in
The bright kick of lime, soaked in sun

But all of it is imagining. I cannot
Smell.
It is air, and longing
My tongue tastes sweetness, and salt, and hot Frank’s sauce
But not the flavors that require olfactory nerves, aromas of
Cocoa in chocolate, cinnamon, life

Some people are born with this
Congenital anosmia

I feel like it’s worse knowing what you’ve lost

For more content, visit my Medium profile; or my LinkTree for scholarly work, or Subscribe to my monthly newsletter, Flying Penguins, which is a digest of my best work every month as well as completely new pieces written just for the newsletter, delivered directly to your Inbox!

--

--

Carmen Fong, MD
Resistance Poetry

Writer, artist, surgeon NYC>> ATL. LGBTQ+ Asian. Doximity Op Med Fellow ‘22-’23. www.carmenfong.com, https://linktr.ee/Hongkongfong