It’s Hard To Know What To Say

A Poem

Jonathan Greene
Resistance Poetry

--

It’s hard to know what to say right now
or where my place is in any discussion
But it’s even harder to remain silent
with all these words percolating inside
It’s hard to watch what is happening,
but hard indicates a privileged view
because I can walk freely without armor
I can talk freely without retribution
and I can remain quiet and no one would notice

It’s hard to know what to say
when some white people are purposefully pandering
and using amplification as an excuse
I can’t amplify much
because I don’t own a megaphone
and even if I did, I would give it away
to someone who can use it better than I can

I am a voice, a larynx of words
but how much do they weigh at a time like this?
And even wondering if they have pounds
is another reason I am out of bounds
It might be better if I remain invisible
than trying harder to become visible

--

--

Jonathan Greene
Resistance Poetry

Father, podcast host, poet, writer, real estate investor/team leader, certified life coach. Curating a meaningful life. IG: trustgreene | trustgreene.com