Leave This Section Blank

Michele Merritt
Resistance Poetry
Published in
1 min readApr 2, 2020

--

Photo by Enayet Raheem on Unsplash

I’m required by law to fill out this form

To be counted

An “accurate representation”

For money, really

They want the truth

Of my existence

“It’s easy!” They say

“Takes just 10 minutes!”

But I go online

And I get stuck

At the question

About my heritage

I’m required by law to fill out this form

Accurately

But I don’t know the truth

There is no ‘other’ option

No skip to next section button

If it were paper

I would write STOLEN all over this part of the form

So I lie and play my usual fantasy game

Descended from Swedish nobility

Or Icelandic vikings

Not the same as my adopted British roots

Not the same as my adopted southern accent

For them, not from them

It is a lie

That I put on these forms

--

--

Michele Merritt
Resistance Poetry

Philosophy professor. Adoptee. Advocate. Activist. Marathon swimmer. Cheese consumer. I write about dogs a lot. michelemerritt.com