Let Me Sink to the Ocean Floor

muthita wanla
Resistance Poetry
Published in
2 min readMay 25, 2020
Photo by the author

Let me sink to the ocean floor
I don’t want to hear them anymore
The low whispers in the night
My silent screams in low light

The mirror on the wall reflects the shadow of the unknown
The fragile shell hiding a naked heart
Long nails claw that throbbing muscles
But it is too numb to feel

Flowers will still bloom even if this leaf falls
And it would not make any sound
No one would notice
The fall of a dry, crispy, eaten leaf

Let the ocean be the last one to embrace me
Let the currents set me free
I just hope they won’t bring me back
To the shore, to the track

I try to breathe but in my lungs are smoke
And ashes of the dreams I burned long ago
I try to hope but the hole is deep
And I threw away the key to that locked chest

Slumber is a forgotten friend
Long gone
Perhaps the voices in my head scared it away
Or I am just not worthy enough
(No, the darkness whispered. You’re nothing.)

I try to smile but everything hurts
My throat is swollen from those little pills
As I swallow it night after night
But the darkness still talks

So let me sink to ocean floor
Let my tears be one with the waves
Make me feel alive for a while
Until my legs, like my heart, die.

--

--