“An African American man leaning over and gripping onto his left lat muscle.” by Sam Burriss on Unsplash

Lines in the Sand

Mela Blust
Resistance Poetry
Published in
2 min readApr 7, 2018

--

I feel like I’m in a hell I can’t escape,
so much on my mind not showing on my face.
I know you already have these things in your heart
and that I could never understand, but I’m going to try to start.
After Alton, after Philando… at the mall with my family.
And I started to cry because it was just killing me.
I wanted to get down on my knees,
just to say that I’m sorry.
I know this world feels impossible.
And I feel partially responsible.
What can I do to help the situation we are in?
Why do we do this to people based on the color of their skin?
It’s more than that as of late,
I just see so much hate.
We don’t help our homeless, we just send them away.
Arrest them, shame them, stick them with fines to pay.
We withhold health care to those too poor,
if they don’t have money we just close the door.
All the hurt, and we pretend that we don’t see.
We jail people for stealing food when their children are hungry.
We send men to wars they don’t understand, to kill those they’ve no qualms with, then steal their land.
We draw imaginary lines all over the planet and call them borders,
and kill those who cross them in the name of order.
I am not from America, I am from EARTH.
We are all from this planet from the moment of birth .
The equator, the poles, the positioning of the sun,
these factors give us different pigmentation,
but we are all one.
Cut us open, we all bleed the same.
We’re all human beings, I don’t want this sick game.
I want no part of a proud, flag waving country,
if what that means is the hatred I see.
I don’t want pride that allows other people’s suffering or even death because they happen to fall on the other side of a line we drew in the sand.
I don’t want your fucking government, your politicians, your police, there’s blood on your fucking hands.
This hurts me .
From now on, I’m an earthling.
I have love in my heart.
It’s not too late to start.

--

--