Photo by Nathan Anderson on Unsplash

Love You To Cheat Death

To mama and papa

Onalenna Neo
Published in
1 min readMay 25, 2020

--

In the dreams that haunt me you are gone and I cannot stop crying.
I run helter skelter, trying to find an escape from the heavy emptiness.
If a world without you is a pain that hurts this much in dreams,
Then no words would ever suffice to describe a reality without you.

In the mornings that follow; realising that it was all a dream,
I vow to love you even more, I pray to God to keep you safe.
In the mornings that follow, I hold you a little tighter, I laugh a little harder.
I hope; if I love you harder, death will never find a pain in you to grab you by.

In the days that follow I forget all about it, the dream, the vow, the fears.
In the days that follow it all dissipates into routines and oblivion.
In the days that follow I act like you are forever,

I forget that none of us, none of this, is.

--

--

Onalenna Neo
Resistance Poetry

|Microbiology PhD student| |Poetry| |Science| |Musings| |Informed insight|