My Inner Bolshevik …

Matthew B.
Resistance Poetry

--

Seeing images like this

as I wake &

step into

the day,

well …

really …

it seems

to awaken from

some lightly dormant slumber …

my inner Bolshekiki,

my mendacious Menshevik,

my potentially merciless Stalinist,

that inner Malatesta,

that wise & gentle Kropotkin,

that wild ferocious Nestor Makhno,

my sleeping Che,

& my brother to Che

the young Fidel,

my ever-ready sacrificial

Liberation Theologist murdered

so brutally in the cathedral

in San Salvador,

that principled & unyielding

beyond angry Jesus,

that truth to power Abbie,

that proud unflinching

Huey,

to an inner soundtrack

of the O’Jays & Temptations

with a trace of youthful rage

that was Killing Joke,

truth be told

privileged powerful

Republican folks

just plain lording it

can really …

really …

get to me.

Uh huh … oh yes.

Nestor Makhno, Ukranian Anarchist circa 1919, photographer unknown.

--

--

Matthew B.
Resistance Poetry

More Trump stuff going back to that day in November can be found @ martgenova.blogspot.com, Poems for Trump.